As the year 2022 draws nearer, football teams of nations across the world are setting their sights on football’s most prestigious tournament, the FIFA World Cup which will be kicking off next year. The competition has been scheduled to take place between the 21st of November and the 18th day of December 2022 in Qatar.

Preparations are being put in place by different countries from the different continents of the world, and they would all be eyeing the top prize when the tournament commences.

When Is the Draw?

The draw has been decided by FIFA to take place on Monday 7th of December this year. The draw will be held in Zurich.


55 different teams have been seeded into pots already. The 55 teams have been seeded into 6 different pots and they are as follows:

Pot 1: Belgium, France, England, Portugal, Spain, Italy, Croatia, Denmark, Germany, Netherlands

Pot 2: Switzerland, Wales, Poland, Sweden, Austria, Ukraine, Serbia, Turkey, Slovakia, Romania

Pot 3: Russia, Hungary, Republic of Ireland, Czech Republic, Norway, Northern Ireland, Iceland, Scotland, Greece, Finland

Pot 4: Bosnia & Herzegovina, Slovenia, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Albania, Bulgaria, Israel, Belarus, Georgia, Luxembourg

Pot 5: Armenia, Cyprus, Faroe Islands, Azerbaijan, Estonia, Kazakhstan, Kosovo, Lithuania, Latvia, Andorra

Pot 6: Malta, Moldova, Liechtenstein, Gibraltar, San Marino

How the Draw Works

There will be six teams divided into five groups, and five teams divided into five groups. Teams like Italy, France, Belgium, and Spain have all secured their spots in the five-team groups given that they are the four Nations League A winners. They will also be competing at the Nation’s League finals on one of the matchdays of the World Cup Qualifiers. They will also be looking to compete for the World Cup come 2022, as it would be the main focus of all competing nations.